We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


17 medals for European paracanoeists at World Cup in Szeged

17 medals for European paracanoeists at World Cup in Szeged 19.5.2018

The paracanoeing season 2018 kicked off with World Cup race held this weekend in Szeged, Hungary. European paracanoeists showed excellent performances picking up seventeen medals over the three competition days. Great Britain was the most successful European nation with six medals.

Paralympic, World and European Champion Emma Wiggs celebrated wins in two events, women’s KL2 200 metres event as well as in the outrigger canoe. “It was really nice to get out on the course and get racing, the course is phenomenal and it’s brilliant to be in the spiritual home of canoeing,” the multiple world champion said in an interview after the race.
Another British paddler Charlotte Henshaw finished second in KL2 women’s event, while Nadezda Andreeva from Russia picked up bronze medal. In women’s VL2 it was Emma Wiggs who produced the fastest time, followed by her compatriot Jeanette Chippington and Australian Susan Seipel.
Jeanette Chippington also won two medals in Szeged. Besides being second in VL2 200 metres event, she finished third in KL1 event. She crossed the finish line behind Russian Alexandra Dupik and Katherinne Wollermann Zapata from Chile.
Helene Ripa from Sweden and Cindy Moreau from France won silver and bronze medal in women’s KL3 final, finishing behind Shakhnoza Mirzaeva from Uzbekistan.
In women’s VL3 final Nataliia Lahutenko from Ukraine won gold medal in front of Australian Brenda Sardon and Hungarian Julianna Molnarne Toth.
The fastest kayaker in men’s KL1 event was Esteban Gabriel Farias from Italy. Luis Carlos Cardoso da Silva from Brazil was second and Robert Suba from Hungary third.
In men’s KL3 final Ukrainian paddler Serhii Yemelianov produced the fastest time, finishing more than a second ahead of Brazilian Caio Ribeiro de Carvalho, while Dylan Littlehales from Australia finished third.
The second gold medal for Italian paracanoeing team was won by Marius Bogdan Ciustea who was the best in men’s VL2 final. Luis Carlos Cardoso da Silva from Brazil was second and Tamas Juhasz from Hungary third.
British paddler David Phillipson won bronze medal in men’s VL3 final. He came to the finish behind Australian Curtis McGrath and Khaytmurot Sherkuziev from Uzbekistan.
The only final decision without European podium was in men’s KL2 event, where Australian Curtis McGrath, Scott Martlew from New Zealand and Azizbek Abdulkhabikov from Uzbekistan occupied the podium positions.