We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


Bouzan and Corin winners of Eurochallenge Ocean Race

Bouzan and Corin winners of Eurochallenge Ocean Race 2.11.2021

Villajoyosa, venue of the 2018 ECA Ocean Racing European Championships, hosted traditional Eurochallenge race which brought medals to representatives of Spain, Great Britain, France and Germany.

More than 170 paddlers from Spain, France, Great Britain, Portugal, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, Norway and Poland competed over the three days in picturesque costal town Villajoyosa. Temperatures around 20 degrees, light wind and low waves offered great conditions for the challenge which started in Villajoyosa and ended in the port of Altea.
In men’s SS1 22 kilometres long event Spanish paddler Walter Bouzan Sanchez won with a time of 1:30:40.699, a minute and a half faster than French Pierre Vilella, who was the winner of the U23 men’s event. Nordin Sparmann from Germany was third and David Szlachta from France fourth in overall standings. In the U23 age group Vilella took the win ahead of his compatriot Axel Kempf and Jorge Enriquez Gutierrez from Spain. Mathis Roudaut (FRA), AlejandroQuesada and Antoni Gil Vicens (both ESP) took the podium positions in men’s junior SS1 event.
Emily Corin from Great Britain dominated in women’s event, finishing the race a minute and a half ahead of Begona Lazkano Guimerans and two and a half minutes ahead of Aurora Figueras Palomera (both ESP). Ellie McCloy (GBR), Irene Gana Fernandez and Sonia Deying Mali (both ESP) were the best in U23 event, while Rosie Edwards (GBR),Sara Mengual Francisco (ESP) and Annie Williams (GBR) won the top three places in junior event.
Competitors also started in a lifesaving race against the clock, on a 300 metres long course. Five athletes qualified to the finals through the first rounds and semifinal. It was a complete British celebration in women’s event with Ewie Wong, Emily Corin and Rachel Jeffries taking the top spots. Hector Henot (FRA), Jordan Roberts (GBR) and Javier Hernanz Agueria (ESP) were the best in men’s final.