We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


ECA celebrates 25th anniversary

European Canoe Association celebrates 25 years since its foundation on 11th December 1993. This happened in Rome, Italy, where delegations from European National Federations came together to organise themselves in a Continental association.

Albert Woods from Great Britain became the president of the European Canoe Association, with Corneliu Barsanescu from Romania and Jorn Cronberg from Denmark joining him as first vice-presidents. Francesco Conforti was elected a Secretary General.
The first European Championships under the auspices of ECA in Olympic disciplines was the 1996 ECA Canoe Slalom European Championships in Augsburg, while the first ECA Canoe Sprint European Championships was organised in 1997 in Plovdiv. Murcia and Rome welcomed European Championships in Canoe Marathon and Canoe Polo already in 1995, while the first Wildwater Canoeing European Championships took place in 1997. Dragon Boat, Canoe Freestyle, Paracanoeing and Ocean Racing European Championships have also been organised in the following years.
At the moment 44 National Federations are members of ECA and nearly 100 official senior European Championships in nine disciplines have been organised since 1993.
Thank you for writing history with us!


Music: "Welcome to the Show" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com), Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License, http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/