We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


European medallists take on Nelo’s winter challenge

European medallists take on Nelo’s winter challenge 26.2.2019

Popular Portuguese training centre Montebelo Aguiera again hosted Nelo’s Winter Challenge which attracted competitors from over ten countries, including top level paddlers, medallists from Olympic Games, European and World Championships.

As it is common for this challenge competitors from Portugal, Spain, Belgium, Russia, Lithuania, Great Britain, Czech Republic, Latvia, France, Austria, Moldova and Mozambique competed in two distances that are not part of the competition programme at European and World Championships or World Cup races – 1500 metres event and 150 metres event.
In the longest distance reigning European and World Champion Fernando Pimenta (POR) produced the best run. It took him 4:41.131 to paddle the 1500 metres long course. Roi Rodriguez from Spain finished second and Emanuel Silva from Portugal third in men’s kayak event.
In women’s K1 Hermien Peters from Belgium took the win in front of two Portuguese representatives Teresa Portela and Joana Vasconcelos. Russian Kirill Shamshurin was the fastest in men’s C2 event, finishing the race almost seven seconds faster than his opponents. Sergio Vallejo Esperon from Spain was second, and Martin Fuksa (CZE) third. In women’s canoe event spectators saw triple Spanish win thanks to Maria Corbera Munoz, Antia Jacome Conto and Maria Perez Aragunde.
These Spanish ladies were top three also in the 150 meters final, with Jacome Conto taking the win, in front of Corbera Munoz and Perez Aragunde. Their compatriot Carlos Arevalo was the fastest in men’s K1 final. Arturas Seja from Lithuania crossed the finish line second and Roi Rodriguez from Spain third. Portuguese paddlers celebrated in the remaining two finals. Joana Vasconcelos won in front of her in teammate Teresa Portela in K1W, with Vera Sobetova from Russia finising third. Helder Silva (POR) was the winner of men’s C1 final. Martin Fuksa (CZE) finished the race in second place and Oleg Tarnovschi (MDA) third.




Photos and video: https://www.facebook.com/nelokayaks/