We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


Finalists of wildwater sprint race at Junior and U23 European Championships are known

Finalists of wildwater sprint race at Junior and U23 European Championships are known 4.8.2018

The penultimate day of the 2018 ECA Junior and U23 Wildwater Canoeing European Championships in Skopje, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, brought the names of athletes who will fight for European Champion titles in Sunday’s individual wildwater sprint finals. Majority of the favourites safely advanced to the next stage of the competition, while there were some surprises as we will not see classic race European Champions Marcel Paufer and Darragh Conor Clarke Walls who missed out the spots leading to the final.

The first favourite for the European Champion tile in men’s U23 K1 event Anže Urankar (SLO) produced the fastest time of the day on Treska River to advance to Sunday’s final already with his first run. The 2017 Senior Wildwater Sprint World Champion was 0.26 seconds faster than German kayaker Yannic Lemmen, and another Slovenian Tim Novak finished the heats in third place. In K1 men’s junior event it was Italians Leonardo Pontarollo and Francesco Ciotoli occupying the top two positions of the first qualification run. Simon Puttkammer from Germany was third.
Italian paddler was the fastest in men’s C1 U23 event as well. It was Mattia Quintarelli who finished the race day in the first place, ahead of Croatian Luka Obadić and Czech canoeist Michal Smoldas. In junior C1M event Filip Janu from Czech Republic won the heats in front of Mathis Perrau (FRA) and Vojtech Klima (CZE).
Czech kayakers were unbeatable in both women’s events. Barbora Dimovova was the fastest in junior event and Martina Satkova in the U23 category. Gabriela Satkova (CZE) finished second and Christina Massini (GER) third in junior heats, while Giulia Formenton (ITA) and Jill-Sophie Eckert (GER) won second and third place in U23 event.
Gabriela Satkova (CZE) was the fastest canoeist in women’s junior heats, finishing the race ahead of Italian Cecilia Panato and Czech paddler Marie Nemcova. Alice Panato (ITA), Martina Satkova (CZE) and Anezka Paloudova (CZE) were the fastest three competitors in the U23 category.
In men’s junior C2 race French crews occupied the top two positions with Manoel Roussin and Tanguy Roussin finishing first and Augustin Reboul – Gael de Brye second. Tomas Hendrych and Richard Nachtigal from Czech Republic were third. Ole Schwarz and Janosch Sulzer (GER) were the fastest duo in U23 event, followed by Luka Obadić- Ivan Tolić (CRO) and Mattia Quinterelli – Giorgio Dell’Agostino (ITA).
Margot Beziatand Elsa Gaubert from France were the fastest in junior C2W heats, classic race European Champions Eva Alina Hočevar and Lea Novak from Slovenia were second and Cecilia Panato and Marta Benedetti from Italy were third.
On Sunday the championships will close with individual and team sprint events.


RESULTS – Individual WW Sprint heat 1 – 2018 ECA Junior&U23 Wildwater Canoeing European Championships, Skopje (MKD)

K1W Junior

1. Barbora Dimovova CZE

2. Gabriela Satkova CZE

3. Christina Massini ITA

K1W U23

1. Martina Satkova CZE

2. Giulia Formenton ITA

3. Jill-Sophie Eckert GER

C1M Junior

1. Filip Janu CZE

2. Mathis Perreau FRA

3. Vojtech Klima CZE

C1M U23

1. Mattia Quintarelli ITA

2. Luka Obadić CRO

3. Michal Smoldas CZE

K1M Junior

1. Leonardo Pontarollo ITA

2. Francesco Ciotoli ITA

3. Simon Puttkammer GER

K1M U23

1.Anže Urankar SLO

2. Yannic Lemmen GER

3. Tim Novak SLO

C1W Junior

1. Gabriela Satkova CZE

2. Cecilia Panato ITA

3. Marie Nemcova CZE

C1W U23

1. Alice Panato ITA

2. Martina Satkova CZE

3. Anezka Paloudova CZE

C2M Junior

1. Manoel Roussin – Tanguy Roussin FRA

2. Augustin Reboul – Gael De Brye FRA

3. Tomas Hendrych – Richard Nachtigal CZE

C2M U23

1. Ole Schwarz – Janosch Sulzer GER

2. Luka Obadić – Ivan Tolić CRO

3. Mattia Quintarelli – Giorgio Dell’Agostino ITA

C2W Junior

1. Margot Beziat – Elsa Gaubert FRA

2. Eva Alina Hočevar – Lea Novak SLO

3. Cecilia Panato – Marta Benedetti ITA

PHOTO: Aleksandar Zlatev


Full results: http://siwihome.azurewebsites.net/canoe123/live?SessionKey=kosta.20180804


Official event website: http://eca2018ww.canoe.mk/?lang=en

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/Macedonian-Canoe-Federation-155682014825608/?hc_ref=ARRdUGtH5wb9Wx7frYmEqkHGQM_UxtQKYcL0bYbK-e8_9N52e2VJqL9iz09c_6Q04zM&fref=nf