We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


German and Swiss domination at the ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup in Wildalpen

German and Swiss domination at the ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup in Wildalpen 24.5.2024

The 2024 ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup race series continued with race number four held in Salze - Wildalpen. The race which counted for the ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup was actually the 69th edition of German Championships, and German and Swiss paddlers were those who dominated in the competition.

Around 180 athletes from Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Great Britain, Serbia, North Macedonia and Croatia took part in the competition in Wildalpen.
In the strongest men's kayak event, with 85 athletes on the start line, German kayakers took all three podium positions. Marcel Blum produced the fastest time of the day (43.95) to claim the victory ahead of Christian Dajek and Joshua Piaskowski (all Germany).
In women's kayak event Anne Jager from Germany took the win ahead of Mona Clavadetscher (SUI) who was 0.40 seconds behind, and legendary German paddler Sabine Fuesser took the third place.
Swiss canoeist Jonah Mueller won in men's C1 event. He was almost two and a half seconds faster than Croatian Janko Presecki, while Germany's Tim Heilinger won bronze medal (+2.65).
In women's canoe event Birgit Simon (GER) took the win ahead of Kerry Christie (GBR).
Cornel Bretscher and Jonah Mueller (SUI) celebrated the win in men's canoe double event. Two German crews Bene Scholz - Dennis John and Joscha Bruggemann - Paul Lukas Luken were second and third respectively.
In men's U18 event Nicolas Niederle Gomez won ahead of Finn Vogler and Philipp Bluhm (all Germany). Lisbeth Antons, Juli Faas and Amelie Denner (all Germany) were the fastest three athletes of the day in women's U18 kayak event.
There are two races left in the 2024 ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup race series. Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina, will host the competition in September, and River Dee - Langollen, Great Britain, will welcome best paddlers in November.








1. Alex Sheppy GBR 263 points

2. Ivo Lamers NED 258

3. Frederick Brown GBR 245



1. Kerry Christie GBR 122 points

2. Molly Sandercock GBR 96

3. Mona Clavadetscher SUI 89



1. Jonah Mueller SUI 100 points

2. Andrew Corwhurst GBR 91

3. Janko Presecki CRO 89



1. Molly Sandercock GBR 100 points

2. Camille Rousson FRA 46

2. Cleo Pitcher - Farell GBR 46



1. Bene Scholz - Dennis John GER 92 points

2. Janko Presecki - Tomislav Hohnjec CRO 91

3. Jakob Holmes - Robert Jefferies GBR 89



1. Kerry Christie - Emma Christie GBR 100 points

2. Ciara Malonez - Elsie Landsborough GBR 84

3. Iona Patrick - Laura Milne GBR 46

3. Maggie Dilai - Laura Milne GBR 46






Photo: Kajak Club Dusseldorf