We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


Germany wins three Canoe Polo World Champion titles, Great Britain one

Germany wins three Canoe Polo World Champion titles, Great Britain one 9.8.2018

Canada, more precisely Welland, was the location of this year's Canoe Polo World Championships that attracted 68 teams from different continents which competed in women's and men's senior and U21 tournament. European teams did great, winning all the available medals but one. Germany celebrated World Champion titles in women’s and men’s senior event and in women’s U21 part of the tournament. In men’s U21 event Great Britain won the gold medal.

Germany also added silver medal in men’s U21 category, while Great Britain won silver medal in women’s senior event. Italy concluded world championships with silver in men’s senior tournament and two bronze medals in women’s senior and men’s U21 tournament. Spain won bronze medal in men’s senior event and Poland celebrated silver medal in women’s U21 event. The only non-European medallist of the Championships was New Zealand who finished third in women’s U21 tournament.
It is quite hard to believe but men’s German team won their first World Champion title ever in the 24 year history of Canoe Polo World Championships. They won 4 – 1 in a final against Italy, the defending champion from the World Championships two years ago. It was a very emotional tournament for German team following the tragic death of their teammate Fiete Junge just days before the World Championships started.
 “It’s a very emotional win for us. All the circumstances, all the bad things that happened, it’s unbelievable that we were able to make it. We are not a team of superstars, we are a superstar team. The last time we met with Fiete we talked about how we wanted to be world champions. He would say all the time hey guys, let’s do this, so we did it for Fiete, we did it for us, we did it for the team,” said Bjorn Zirotzki, German coach, for the ICF.  
German captain Jonas Vieren added, “We fought for this for several years. Finally we have won the World Championships. We had won all the other championships, but we could never win this one. It was a tough time before the championships, but the team came closer together. We just tried to play polo here, and paddle for him as well, and it was enough to win the World Championships. And we won it for him.”
Spain finished third in men’s senior event after 5 – 4 win over France in a bronze medal match.
Germany also celebrated world champion title in women’s senior tournament. Ladies won the title in a gold medal match against Great Britain after scoring three times and Great Britain scored once. This was the sixth title for Germany in women’s event. Italy won bronze medal in this tournament after 4 – 1 win over France to celebrate the first Italian ever women’s senior team medal in the history of Canoe Polo World Championships.
There was no upsets in women’s U21 final. Germany prolonged the winning streak after their 5 – 1 win against Poland. The U21 events were first introduced at World Championships in 2012 and since then in has always been Germany that won this tournament. New Zealand picked up bronze medal after defeating Great Britain 3 – 2 in a bronze medal match.
Great Britain won the remaining World Champion title in men’s U21 event. They were actually the defending champions from two years ago. It was a tough final match against Germany and Great Britain celebrated in the end with a result 3 – 2. Italy won bronze medal match after their 6 – 1 win over Poland.



Source: ICF

Photo: ICF – Dezso Vekassy


FINAL RANKINGS (Top 4 + European teams)


1. Germany

2. Italy

3. Spain

4. France

6. Netherlands

7. Great Britain

9. Denmark

10. Poland

13. Switzerland

14. Russia

15. Portugal

17. Sweden



1. Germany

2. Great Britain

3. Italy

4. France

6. Netherlands

7. Switzerland

8. Spain

11. Denmark

13. Sweden

17. Poland



1. Great Britain

2. Germany

3. Italy

4. Poland

6. France

7. Switzerland

8. Netherlands

10. Denmark

13. Ireland



1. Germany

2. Poland

3. New Zealand

4. Great Britain

5. France

6. Netherlands

7. Spain