We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


Last ECA Open Canoe Slalom European Cup wins of the year to France, Slovakia and Germany

Last ECA Open Canoe Slalom European Cup wins of the year to France, Slovakia and Germany 6.8.2023

The 2023 ECA Open Canoe Slalom European Cup series concluded with eight and final race in Bratislava, Slovakia. The winners of the final competition of the year were Adrien Fischer, Eliška Mintalova. Mathurin Madore and Nele Bayn.

One of biggest surprises of the finals of the 2023 ECA Open Canoe Slalom European Cup race that was held as a part of ICF World Ranking race in Bratislava came already in the first event of the day. Always strong Slovak canoeists were considered the main favourites to win at their home course, but were outside the podium after exciting finals. Marko Mirgorodsky was fifth, Alexander Slafkovsky sixth and Matej Benuš 8th.
There were young canoe slalom paddlers who navigated through the gates of the final on the Danube River successfully and denied the favourites the places on the podium. Adrien Fischer (FRA) was the one who celebrated the win in men’s canoe. It was the tightest possible win, as 16-year-old Žiga Lin Hočevar (SLO) crossed the finish line just 0.01 seconds behind French canoeist. Two penalty seconds were the reason that young Slovenian did not win the race. Italian Paolo Ceccon was third.
The 2022 European Champion Eliška Mintalova (SVK) had the best time already in the heats and semifinal and did not let anyone take the leading position in final either. She had a touch and two penalty seconds in the decisive run of the day, but the still finished the race more than three seconds ahead of her opponents. Her teammate Sona Stanovska was second and Eva Terčelj from Slovenia third.
French kayaker Mathurin Madore was the best in men’s kayak final, stopping the clock at 82.71. He was 1.41 seconds faster than Jakub Grigar (SVK), but Slovak Olympic medallist had a touch and two seconds penalty added to his time. Adam Gonšenica (SVK) was third.
In the last event of the day, women’s canoe final, German canoeist Nele Bayn showed the best run and claimed the win ahead of Martina Satkova (CZE), who was 0.46 seconds behind. Sona Stanovska won her second medal of the day and added bronze from canoe to her silver medal she won in kayak.


Results: https://siwidata.com/canoe123/live?SessionKey=svkcanoe.2023080500