We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


Legendary Elena Kaliska the fastest at third ECA European Open Canoe Slalom Cup

Legendary Elena Kaliska the fastest at third ECA European Open Canoe Slalom Cup 12.5.2019

The third race in newly introduced ECA European Open Canoe Slalom Cup race series was organised in Liptovsky Mikulaš, Slovakia. The same venue will host this year’s Junior and U23 Canoe Slalom European Championships in July. The winner of the third race in women’s kayak was two-times Olympic champion Elena Kaliska (SVK). Marko Mirgorodsky, Isak Ohrstrom and Monika Škachova also reached the top positions in their respective categories. Competitors from 13 countries took part in this race.

It was a very good racing weekend for 47-year-old Elena Kaliska, 2004 and 2008 Olympic Champion in women’s K1 event. She was the fastest already in Saturday’s heats and confirmed her spot in the national team for this season alongside Jana Dukatova, who is coming back after she gave birth to a daughter last June. On Sunday Elena Kaliska again produced the fastest time in her category to pick up the win in Liptovsky Mikulaš. She was 0.31 seconds faster than Polish representative Natalia Pacierpnik, while Eliška Mintalova (SVK) finished the race in third place.
“The feeling is great, but there is still a long road ahead of me, at the beginning there is European Championships and the first three World Cup races. I do not want to rush what the year brings,” said Kaliska.
Monika Škachova (SVK) was also the fastest in heats and later in the final. Despite picking up four penalty seconds in women’s C1 final, she stopped the clock almost ten seconds faster than her closest rival Emanuela Luknarova (also SVK). Shi Chen from China was third in this event.
Slovak canoeist Marko Mirgorodsky was the winner in men’s C1 final, finishing the race ahead of two Polish paddlers Grzegorz Hedwig and Kacper Sztuba. Sztuba was actually the only canoeist in the final who produced a penalty free run.
In men’s kayak final the win went to Sweden thanks to Isak Ohrstrom who was 1.07 seconds faster than second placed Slovak paddler Jaub Grigar. Andrej Malek from Slovakia was third.
The next race in the 2019 ECA European Open Canoe Slalom Cup series will be organised in Merano, Italy, on 8th and 9th June 2019. The last two races are scheduled for August in Prague and Bratislava.
Photo: Slovenska kanoistika