We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


Ramalho, Maciel and Afonso defended Portuguese national champion titles

Ramalho, Maciel and Afonso defended Portuguese national champion titles 12.7.2020

With no international competitions scheduled until the fall Portuguese canoe marathon paddlers competed at national championships which took place in Montemor-o-Velho. Jose Ramalho, Ana Afonso and Sergio Maciel managed to defend the senior national champion titles.

One of the best canoe marathon paddlers of all times Jose Ramalho took the win in men’s senior kayak event. He was five seconds faster than his closest opponent Adriano Conceicao, while Alfredo Nogueira Faria won bronze medal in this race.
Sergio Maciel, multiple European Championships medallist, did not have much trouble defending his title from last year in men’s senior canoe event. He was a minute faster than Rui Lacerda in second place and ten minutes faster than Filipe Dias Vieria who was third.
The third paddler who managed to defend the national champion title from 2019 was Ana Afonso in women’s C1. It took her 1:14:30.63 to finish the marathon race in first place. Marcia Faria took silver medal with four minutes slower time. Beatriz Barros was third.
Andreia Azevedo was the winner in women’s kayak event. She finished the course three minutes faster than Ana Valentim in second place, while Ines Esteves finished third.
Maria Rego Gomes, Sofia Cruz Lopes and Maria Lopes won medals in women’s K1 junior event, Cesar Soares, Tomas Osorio de Sousa and Joao Sousa Cerqueira took the medals in junior MC1 event,  while Francisca Costa Martins, Daniela Braga and Beatriz Lamas won medals in women’s junior C1 race. The best three in men’s junior kayak event were Bruno Brasileiro, Vitor Freitas de Pinho and Rui Coelho. Veterans in different categories also took part in the competition.



Complete results: http://www.fpcanoagem.pt/uploads/events/files/20200705.MA.CampNacionalMaratona2020_ResultadosV1.pdf


Photo: Luis Fraguas/Portuguese Canoe Federation