We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


Slovenian and Croatian wins at the final ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup in 2022

Slovenian and Croatian wins at the final ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup in 2022 22.10.2022

The 2022 ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup race series came to an end today with the last race that was held on the Kolpa River on the border between Slovenia and Croatia. Slovenian paddlers took the wins in five events and Croatian in two.

Anže Urankar (SLO) was the fastest in men’s senior kayak event. The 2017 Wildwater Sprint World Champion and bronze medallist of the last European Championships in Sabero finished the race 1.04 seconds ahead of his teammate Tim Novak who was second, while third place went to Bosnia and Herzegovina thanks to Dušan Mačkić.
In men’s junior K1 event Tjaš Til Kupsch (SLO), the reigning Junior European Champion, once again showed good form and picked up gold medal, after he stopped the clock at 54.33, 1.88 seconds faster than his closest opponent Jon Šenk. Simon Škof Ojeda was third for an all Slovenian podium in this event.
In women’s kayak event Slovenian Ana Šteblaj, the U23 European Championships silver medallists, produced the best run in senior category, finishing the race 1.19 second ahead of her teammate Živa Jančar. German Claudia Mohr Calliet was third.
In women’s junior kayak event all three podium positions stayed in Slovenia. It was Nika Ozimc who won ahead of Hana Bedernjak and Špela Marinko.
Martin Gale (SLO) was the best in men’s senior canoe event with a time of 1:07.38. Nejc Gradišek (SLO) won silver medal with a 0.16 seconds slower time, while Croatian Jadran Zonjić concluded the race in third place.
In junior canoe event Janko Presečki from Croatia won ahead of Slovenian Aljaž Marko Golob and another Croatian Damijan Hohnjec.
Croatian duo Tomislav Hohnjec – Janko Presečki was the fastest in men’s senior C2 event. Representatives of Bosnia and Herzegovina Dušan Mačkić and Aljoša Travar were second and Croatians Luka Obadić and Ivan Tolić third.


Results: http://www.timing-mojstrana.com/eca-evropski-pokal-v-sprintu-na-divjih-vodah-osilnica-22-10-2022/

Photo; Metka Savšek